December 22, 2010

Chapter Election & Swellebration Wrap-up

Our Chapter Election and Swellebration Event held at the El Palomar on December 14th was a great way to end the year. Everybody had a good time, and for those of you who missed it, here is a little wrap-up.

Donation: Representatives from Big Stick Surfing Association generously presented our chapter with a check for $1000.00. We truly appreciate their support, especially in these hard financial times.

Awards: Awards were presented to Sarah Mansergh and Cheryl Fergeson for outstanding volunteer work.  An award was presented to Supervisor John Leopold for his support of our chapter’s effort to get temporary stairs put in at the hook during the seawall construction.  Moe’s Alley will also be getting an award for their outstanding fund raising support.

Election: The nominees for each election position gave a brief speech, then we voted. The results are:

Chair: Dustin Macdonald

Co-Vice Chair: Tristan Kass

Treasurer: Mike Braswell

Secretary: Reez Aikawa

Lab Coordinator: Jon LaRiviere

Congratulations to the new chapter officers, and welcome aboard to the enthusiastic new members who joined Surfrider Foundation at the event.

December 4, 2010

Chapter Meeting: Election and Swellebration

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

7:00 PM

El Palomar Restaurant Banquet Room

1344 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz

Join us for one of our most fun events of the year, our Chapter Election and Swellebration. We will provide delicious El Palomar appetizers and the first round of adult beverages. All you have to do is vote for chapter chair, co-vice chair, treasurer, and secretary…then swellebrate! After the voting, we will be honoring key volunteers and chapter activists and have raffle drawings for prizes.

YOU MUST BE A MEMBER TO ATTEND. Not a member, no problem. We will have membership forms there. Just bring a check for $25.00. What a deal.

Our current nominees are:

Chair: Dustin Macdonald, current co-vice chair and former chair

Co-vice chair: Tristan Kass, currently co-volunteer coordinator

Treasurer:  Mike Braswell

Secretary: Reez Aikawa, Surfrider member and volunteer for several years. Has also volunteered for Amnesty International, 2nd Harvest Food Bank, Brook Knoll Elementary, and the SV Cub Scouts. She loves surfing and various styles of dance.

Lab Coordinator: Jon LaRiviere, currently working on PhD in Oceanography at UCSC. 10 years of experience with environmental and ocean science.

We will be accepting nominations until the evening of the vote. You must be a member to be a nominee.